top of page

Scored for Viola & Piano

Biography: A Viola Sonata in Three Movements - Parts

  • This sonata for piano and viola is dedicated to Laura Brenner, a violist who teaches at Florida Southern College.  It was written to honor her life and her love of music.  The first movement finds Laura basking in the warmth of childhood memories and times spent in the country.  The second movement is a theme and variations inspired by Beethoven and takes Laura through the discipline of technical study as she embraces her talent and strives to achieve her musical goals.  The third movement depicts the joy and meaning Laura finds in music through teaching.

  • I. Childhood (4:45)

    II. The Calling (6:30)

    III. Bridges (3:25)

bottom of page